Smoky Mountain Historical Society
Using the DAR to extend your research
Sons of The Revolution
Oddfellows and Rebekkahs
Daughters of the American Revolution
Sons of the American Revolution


Any man shall be eligible for membership in this Society who, being of the age of eighteen years or over and a citizen of good repute in the community, is the lineal descendant of an ancestor who was at all times unfailing in loyalty to, and rendered active service in, the cause of American independence, either as an officer, soldier, seaman, Marine, militiaman or Minuteman, in the armed forces of the Continental congress, or of any one of the several Colonies or States, or as a signer of the Declaration of Independence, or as a member of a Committee of Safety or Correspondence, or as a member of any Continental, Provincial or Colonial congress or legislature, or as a recognized patriot who performed actual service by overt acts of resistance to the authority of Great Britain. The applicant must also be personally acceptable to the Society.

 The National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution was incorporated January 17, 1890, in Connecticut and chartered by the United States Congress on June 9, 1906. A number of state societies were formed prior to this date during the 1880's. These were organized under The Sons of Revolutionary Sires organized in San Francisco on July 4, 1876. The first Congress of the National Society took place in Louisville, Kentucky on April 30, 1890, on the 100th anniversary of George Washington's inauguration to the office of President of the United States.
    On April 30, 1990 The National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution celebrated the bicentennial of Washington's becoming President and the centennial of the NSSAR.

    The Tennessee Society of the Sons of the American Revolution was organized on December 2, 1889, in Nashville, TN. The Society currently has 1200 active members in twenty-one Chapters located throughout the state. In December 2014, the TNSSAR celebrated it's 125th Anniversary.

Our Society is dedicated to the purposes and goals that through our enduring effort we inspire the community with a reverence for the principles of the government founded by our forefathers and recognize individuals who demonstrate timeless qualities of these men and women by endeavoring to:

- Honor individuals for outstanding patriotic achievement on a national, regional and local level.
- Honor persons for outstanding bravery and self sacrifice in the face of imminent danger.
- Honor outstanding high school students annually with presentation of a Good Citizenship Award.
- Honor outstanding Junior & Senior ROTC cadets with presentation of the ROTC Award.
- Honor Law Enforcement officials for outstanding service with a Law Enforcement Award.
- Select outstanding Eagle Scout annually at the chapter for state scholarship competition.
- Assist veterans in Veterans Hospitals.
- Conduct an historical orations contest annually to select a state competitor.
- Place SAR Markers at the grave sites of Revolutionary War Patriots and SAR Members.
- Commemorate Revolutionary War Patriots with appropriate ceremonies.
- Participate in new citizenship swearing-in ceremonies.
- Observe patriotic anniversaries.
- Cooperate with the National Society Daughters of the American Revolution, Children of the American Revolution and other hereditary organizations in the promotion of patriotism.

For membership interest in the Tennessee SAR, please complete the simple Membership Interest Form, or contact a Chapter serving your county by locating your county, district and chapter in the Tennessee SAR District Map, or for general information, contact the Tennessee SAR Membership Secretary.
Tennessee Society
President David Daily
Vice President David Rutherford
Secretary Dennis Eggert
Treasurer Jerry Cox
Registrar Larry Fox
Chaplain Michael Walker
Historian Jerry Mustin
To contact the Society Tennessee State Society
Sons of the Revolution
P.O. Box 2401
Knoxville, TN 37901
Phone and Fax: (865) 540-3950
Board of Managers

Steve Blevins
Bertram Chalfant
Jerry Creasey
Terry Davenport
Robert Evans
Jim Green
Reid Gryder
Tim Massey
Jerry Mustin
Harry Patton
Gerald Ross
Jered Underwood
David Whaley
Alan Williams
Gary McDonald

Anderson County

Harry Bumgardner
M C Calfee
Jerry Creasey
Mike Dahl
Mitchel Fain
Lynn Fox
Ralph Goodman
Jim Green
Reid Gryder
Gene Hicks
Boyd Malone
Jerry Mustin
Allen Mynatt
Harry Patton
Harold Purcell
Mike Reedy
Tom Terry
Jim Watson
Dave Winstead
Randy Williamson
David Dailey
Lisa Brock
Bear Brooks
Sam Jennings

Roane County Jim Rivers
Arthur Rivers
Gary McDonald
Martin Cash
Gerald Ross
Sevier County Jered Underwood
Knox County Bill Christenberry
Bradley County David Whaley
Greene County Tim Massey
Ronnie Lail
Hamblin County Terry Davenport
David Rutherford
David County Bert Chalfant
John Glynn